Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Advice/help wanted about 24 vs 12 volt

Default Advice/help wanted about 24 vs 12 volt

Hey guys I'm hopefully about to buy my first m715 ()

I have always wanted a m715 I am a firefighter and our forestry truck I believe is a 69. I just got approved from the bank today for this purchase and I'm excited. I am trying to start my own off road shop and recovery business. I currently have a 2011 jeep JK and 3 76-81 jeep CJ7. I want to have this m715 as a tow rig, recovery vehicle and show piece.
    My dream is to keep this looking original. I want to add exterior work lights and emergency lights and sirens. I also want to add winches to it for recoveries.

My dilemma is keep it the original 24 volt system or convert it to 12 volt. Mostly everything I want to add to it are all 12 volt appliances. Is there a easy way to add like a 12v fuse panel that I can wire everything into or just make everything 12v and wore it all like I would on a normal jeep?

Are there any good write ups on how to convert it to 12v I looked but didn't have the best luck. I know a lot of people say if there is nothing wrong with the 24 why change it? I agree I like the 24v it's more reliable and original. But what's the best way to wire up all the other stuff I want to add!??? Any advice would be great! Thanks I look forward to owning my first m715!!

Hello and welcome to the M715 Zone. Hope that you get your truck and show us some pictures.

Since the 24 volt system is two 12 volt batteries in series, you could just get your 12 volts from the connection that goes from one battery to the other one. Then, it would 12 volts to ground. I don't think that it would cause much problem as long as you are not doing something like running a high consumption item off of that battery. Theoretically, the charging system would sense the low battery and charge it through the battery that has more charge.