Page 1 of 33 1234567891011 ... LastLast

Thread: foodstamp's incredible, never-ending multi-topic thread

Default foodstamp's incredible, never-ending multi-topic thread

ok.....i seen something about putting cummins in these rigs, well i have a 4 cyl turbo john deere that im thinking about putting in my truck.

what do you think, good or bad?......it will be a manual tranny, not shure which one though, i think its the one thats in most dodge's. 5 speed with granny low. ill have to get a adapter plate im guessing.....or is their a better tranny out their. im looking for something with a nice low gear, but a good highway gear too...im new to these trucks. 16 years old with a project truck ha

Not saying this can't be done, just some things to think about:

You should find out the engine size, HP, Torque output of that engine, see if its even up to snuff. No sense wasting time with a diesel thats too small.

You should do some more research on the tranny you want, I think you are refering to an NV4500.

I have no idea how you are going to couple the two. You'd have to do some research and see if there is someway a bellhousing will mate the two, or something. Like I said, that seems to be the interesting part of this idea.

Other than that, if the diesel's got the oomph, and the tranny mates up, run it!
    68 M-715
    67 M-725

Yeah NV4500 sounds like the ticket, but like rpg states. I am wondering where you will find a bellhousing to mount it to the motor. What did the motor come out of??.

I would think any 4 cyl. JD is going to be too small. All JD engines I've seen go to 6 cyl. at about 100HP. So I'm guessing it's under 100HP. Another thing is JD engines and other parts usually fit JD stuff and JD only. I would bet a bellhousing would have to be custom made but you never know. I've seen alot of engines in alot of stuff that I wouldn't think would work out but someone made it work. I'd just do my research good before I got too far into it.